A Perfect & Thoughtful Gift – DIY Glass Etched Personalized Wineglasses

diy glass etchMy first glass etch experience was for my husband’s family’s gift exchange last year. I got one of those awesome glass casserole dished with its own fitted and insulated carrier (got the set for about $25 at Canadian Tire, but I have seen some more decorative carriers only on Etsy). We all have the same last name and my mother in law only had sons! So I glass etched our last name down the side with some decorative scrolls (I wish I had a picture!) and gave that for our pot-luck gift exchange! It was a hit.

Since then I have done a few more glass etching projects with varied success. For my wedding, I glass etched “Bride” and “Groom” onto our wedding wine glasses. Also, I did a time capsule so our guests could write us a message for our 10th wedding anniversary – not to be opened until then! (See the Time Capsule DIY post here. )

One KEY to glass etching success is the brand of glass etch you use!!!! The best IMG_3253 check xresults were the Martha Stewart Glass Etch. It cost about $70 but I got it for $42 with a 40% off coupon. The bottle is bigger than the cheap brands and it will last for a long time with many projects. I have also used a cheaper brand, Armour Etch, which was about $17. What a mistake. It etched uneven and blotchy. I tried it over and over but with the same poor results. And it was much runnier too so it made a mess. If you make the effort to glass etch, use a good product.

Anyway, onto the DIY!

This is part of a gift basket I put together for friend’s of our recent housewarming/engagement party.

The gift includes –

  • a lined basket
  • set of 4 DIY stenciled natural stone coasters (DIY coming soon!)
  • DIY glass etched personalized wine glasses.
  • a bottle of a nice French wine (For the picture I just used a bottle of our wedding wine because I hadn’t gotten to the store for the wine yet. For the actual gift, spend a little and get a good quality commercial wine)

Miscellaneous – basket filler, sheer ribbon & a handmade card

First, get 2 nice wine glasses. Search places like Winners, Homesense, Marshalls etc for deals. Get a couple at the dollerstore if you want to do a test run first. Wash them and dry thoroughly. The glasses must be bone-dry for the etching to work properly.

diy glass etching

Next, you need stencils. I usually use my Cricut mini to cut out vinyl shapes. This time I just happened to find stickers that I liked and decided to use them instead.

diy glass etch

Cut out the letters out and stick them on the glass. Smooth down the edges and make sure the sticker doesn’t have any pockets or air bubbles where the etching cream could leak and ruin your project.

diy glass etch

If you are using stickers as stencils, make sure you have enough letters to use them only once each. You won’t be able to reuse the stickers more than once. I ran out of “e”s and had to make my own for “Glen”.

diy glass etch

Tape around the stickers and also tape a bib on it. The cream may drip and ain’t nobody got time fo dat.

diy glass etch

Add the glass etching cream with a disposable cheapie foam brush. I cut mine to a point to make it more precise. Bottle instructions tell you to dab it on thick.

diy glass etching

Wait 15 minutes for the cream to work. Go have something to eat, like maybe some delicious wild-caught salmon sandwich spread? Yum!

diy glass etching

After the timer goes off, you have to rinse all the cream off with water. Do that. Rinse well and dry completely. Since the glass is now etched, meaning scratched, it is dishwasher safe. You can’t wash off scratches.

diy glass etching

BOOM. Done. Neat eh?

  diy glass etch diy glass etch diy glass etch IMG_2630 diy glass etch
People really appreciate when you go that extra mile to put not only your money, but also you time into a thoughtful gift. 🙂

~with love, ChelseyP

About Chelsey Pear

Chelsey Pear Charm Jewelry Co. Founder & Designer www.ChelseyPear.com
Image | This entry was posted in DIYs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Perfect & Thoughtful Gift – DIY Glass Etched Personalized Wineglasses

  1. Pingback: Wedding & Anniversary Time Capsule DIY | Newlywed Me with Chelsey P

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funday! | Newlywed Me with Chelsey P

  3. Jamie says:

    This is the dumbest question — you don’t actually use any sort of knife to etch into the glass? The cream does it all for you?? Am I missing something?

  4. Greetings! I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and finally got the bravery to
    go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Tx! Just
    wanted to say keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

