Hobbies Are Important To Relationships

bike race

bike race

Until recently, I didn’t have any hobbies except planning our wedding and my hanging out with my husband. And believe you me, he was smiling on the outside but it was driving him crazy on the inside. Too much attention for a guy who needs his own space sometimes. Poor fella!

His hobbies are many – mountain biking, hunting, tinkering around the

bracelets I made

bracelets I made

house fixing things. My hobby for 10 years was jewellery making. I even had a jewellery business and did a few bridal shows and craft fairs. I put that on the back burner when I travelled (I worked in Mexico & on cruise ships).  Then I came back to land & to Canada and met my now husband.  I then had 3 years of wedding obsession planning (only 1 of those years I was actually engaged, I got a headstart lol).

Now that the wedding if over with, I find I have too much time on my hands to bug my husband! That is one of the reasons I started this blog. I needed to have something to do again. Everyone needs alone time, including me and my husband. Having a hobby where you can spend sometime alone and also leave the other people to their own devices sometimes is a good thing. Its a great thing!

So now that I have taken up a few new non-wedding related hobbies, I have a lot of creative ideas, recipes and DIYs I wanted to share with someone other than my husband. Don’t get me wrong, he loves to hear about my interests. But I don’t fault him at all if he isn’t as jazzed up about laundry room basket labels as I am!

This whole blog concept is pretty awesome. I get to engage in some new hobbies like home decorating, recipe creation and recently handmade photography cards, while sharing it with other people who are as jazzed up about it as I am.

 

This is a great asset to our relationship. We have a lot more to talk about and spending time apart, even just a little time, is healthy. Shared hobbies are great too thought. Its an activity that you can both share and have fun at the same time. For our wedding gifts to each other, we bought real good mountain bikes. My husband upgraded and I got my first one. He likes to enter mountain bike races such as 60k, 8hour relay and 24hour relays. I got the bike so I could join him in this hobby and have fun and exercise at the same time. I can’t wait to enter my first race!!

Do you agree that individual & shared hobbies are important for a relationship?

What are your or your husbands hobbies?

Do you have shared hobbies or are they totally different?

~with love, ChelseyP

About Chelsey Pear

Chelsey Pear Charm Jewelry Co. Founder & Designer www.ChelseyPear.com
Image | This entry was posted in Newlywed Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hobbies Are Important To Relationships

  1. Tex Arty says:

    I just think it is important to support your spouse in whatever his or her endeavor might be and yea, I’m a hobby person, it has changed over the years to Blogging for now. 🙂
    Nice Post.

Leave a Reply

