Front Page News in My Little Town – A Travelling Balloon

Balloon launched in Minnesota, lands in Paris | Paris Star.

I don’t understand why in movies, people are always trying to get out of a small town and move to the big city.

I grew up in a big city, London Ontario (pop. 500k). I did love it. It was great. I lived in the South end as a kid then my family and I moved to the North end. Then when I got my own place, I lived deep in the heart of downtown. I know that city inside and out. But something was missing.

When I met my husband, he was in the city visiting a friend. He lived in the small town of Paris Ontario (pop. 11k), born and raised. We started dating and right from the start he told me he would never move to a big city like London. He loved the little town too much. (I had an ultimatum of my own as well, that my dog and I are a package deal. That doesn’t sound like a big deal but my dog is kind of a jerk. But that’s another story). So when we moved in together, I moved into his house in Paris and brought my dog along with me. And we couldn’t be happier.

When I lived in the city, it was such a different way of life. It was so sparkly and shiny on the outside but now that I am out of that bubble, I realize there wasn’t as much substance to it as I thought. Don’t get me wrong – I am proud of my hometown. But this small town lifestyle is what truly makes me happy.

I like that everyone seems to know everyone. I like that people actually stop at a crosswalk and to let other cars in in front of them. I like that if it takes me more than 6 minutes to get to the grocery store, that’s a traffic jam!

So city life is great and all, but this small town country life is just right for me. I was a big city girl, through and through and here I am now, reading the local newspaper of our small town and the front page story is about a travelling balloon. How adorable is that!!? 🙂

~with love, Chelsey P

About Chelsey Pear

Chelsey Pear Charm Jewelry Co. Founder & Designer www.ChelseyPear.com
Image | This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

